top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Evans

Self-Care and Homemade Donuts

Updated: Mar 7, 2022

These last two weeks have been about self-care and new hobbies to keep myself occupied. I have finished a 1000 piece puzzle, a new paint by diamond painting (You can buy one here!), and of course tried some new recipes. I have started the process of creating sourdough starter and will hopefully have a successful result next week - just in time for a solid blog of science and bread! I also decided to decorate some sugar cookies for Easter with my version of royal icing - gave me a solid 3 hours of something to do. I've also started a skincare routine - hard to mess up when you can't leave the house!



New Routine


This new routine I've developed kind of started in Greece, but I have definitely continued and improved it since I got home. I have always struggled with a little acne and scarring spots, and I have been determined to make some progress. Being home has resulted in less makeup usage and a pretty consistent environment, making it easy to tell if my skincare routine is ACTUALLY starting to work. I definitely think it is...so I'll drop it for everyone.


  1. Wash your face every night - this is when I shower because I hate going to sleep dirty. I use Aveeno Clear Complexion Cream Cleanser. I have been using this face wash for about 6 months and I love it. It doesn't dry my skin out and doesn't have a medicated smell like some of the Salicylic acid cleansers I've used before. I only wash my face once a day now (I know...exactly what they tell you NOT to do). Before, I would wash my face twice a day minimum, but my face was overly dry and I was breaking out MORE from the clogged pores.

  2. Adaferin Gel before bed! I started using this in Greece after talking with my roommate who had the same problem. This is the exact same stuff as Differin Gel. Look for products that have Adapalene. This is the retinoid that has recently been legalized as an over-the-counter acne medication. Normally, retinoids are super powerful and cause extreme side effects. They usually a prescribed by dermatologists if acne is excessive (like bad cystic acne). This stuff that I use is less powerful, so I can use it on my less severe acne everyday. After I shower and right before I go to bed (so I don't touch my face as much) I apply a thin layer over my entire face. Remember this is only ONCE A DAY before bed. Don't over apply - it won't do anything except waste your product and dry your face out. I definitely think this product has been my saving grace. Even during my worst acne times (hormones, my dude) my face has been clearing up. It has helped with redness and scarring as well. This might take a month or more to start working...don't give up!

  3. Keep your pillow case and sheets clean!! I wash my bedding once a week and shower at night so they stay as clean as possible. Going to bed with dirty hair and face leaves bacteria on your pillow case and will transfer to your face each night. At least wash your pillowcase once a week so your face is at least on clean fabric!

  4. Moisturize! Every morning I put a healthy amount of my moisturizer on and put more on as needed throughout the day. It is possible the face wash and adapalene gel will start to dry your skin out. It is SO important to keep your skin hydrated so that the dry skin doesn't clog your pores and make things worse. I use Neutrogena Hydro-Boost Water Gel. It's a little pricey, but because it is water-based and non-comedogenic, it is great for even sensitive skin like mine. Plus, it has Hyaluronic acid so it keeps the moisture in longer and is actually naturally occurring in your skin.

  5. Hydrating face masks once a week. I like to use the sheet face masks to just give myself a little more hydration. I usually use ones that have aloe or tea tree in them so they help with inflammation and what not. I also use the blackhead strips once a week because my nose is constantly covered with them. I usually do this after my shower when my pores are wide open and I can close them up with cold water and put on my adaferin gel right away. Again, I only do these once a week so my face doesn't get overwhelmed with everything I'm throwing at it.

  6. Spot Treat when needed! This is one thing I try not to do unless I have a really big, ugly zit that I want to kill instantly. I also probably do this in a really bad way. I usually pop the zit that has a big white head and then put this spot treatment on to help dry it out while it's open. Definitely not what you should do, but whatever. I use Clearasil 5-in-1 Spot Treatment. I try not to use this unless I really need it because it is a different medication than my other products that I use daily (Benzoyl Peroxide). Like I said, I only use this on large, obvious zits that I keep picking at and need to dry out ASAP.

Basically that is it! I don't use toner or serums like some people. I just never thought they were helpful for my skin and I don't want to have an over abundance of products and medication on my face. If you want to start a new skincare routine...now is the time!


Donuts or Doughnuts?


Once upon a time I was craving donuts and stuck in self-isolation. The next day, I decided to make donuts. I have always wanted to do this but frying in my apartment kitchen is not ideal because of the smell and my very sensitive smoke detectors. Being back at my parents home gave me the great opportunity to do this (sorry mom!). The recipe I used was beautiful...I didn't change a thing. You can find it here and I will include it at the end.


This recipe was actually super easy and worked great if you followed the ingredients exactly as written. This means WEIGH YOUR INGREDIENTS. As easy as measuring cups are, they aren't super consistent or accurate when it comes to sensitive baked goods (hint: macarons). If you don't have a scale, go buy one. This recipe doesn't even give you cup measurements because we all know you'll cheat.


To get started, bloom your yeast in warm water and a little bit of sugar. This is my favorite thing that I have learned in my baking life. If you activate the yeast before adding it to all the other ingredients, you have a much smaller change at failure, which is key when making bread products! So, make sure your yeast is nice and bubbly before adding it to the mixer. If it isn't showing signs of life after 5ish minutes, start over and pay attention to the temperature of your water. I usually use lukewarm water/milk so I know I won't kill it and I actually found that this temperature seems to activate the yeast better than higher temperatures. Once you have this accomplished...you should be golden. Don't over knead/mix this dough - just until it is smooth and light. If you over-knead it will start to get dense, tough, and definitely won't rise correctly.


After the first rise, you will need to cut out your beautiful little donuts. I used cookie cutters, but you can definitely buy a donut cutter if you are planning to become a regular donut maker. Keep the centers of the donuts, too! This is where I didn't follow the recipe to a T. Basically, the recipe I linked wants you to created a proof box out of your oven. I wasn't feeling this process, so I just had my dough rise on top of the oven. Once thing I would do if you decide against creating the proof box is to turn your oven on so that there is heat around the donuts. You also want to cover these bad boys with a towel or plastic wrap to help them stay warm and avoid them drying out. About halfway through this rise, I started heating my oil.



If you don't have a fryer, you can still do this! I used a dutch oven with vegetable oil. Make sure you have a frying or candy thermometer so you can keep the temperature of the oil consistent - this is VERY important. As you add donuts to the oil, the temperature will go down. You need to keep the oil right around 350 degrees F so they cook through and aren't too brown. If you get too hot, the donuts will brown up to fast and you will have a doughy center. Before throwing four donuts into the fryer, test the oil with one of your donut holes. This will help you determine how long to fry on each side and give you an idea of how you want them to look. I only fried up to three donuts at a time so the oil didn't get too cold. I used tongs to flip and pull them out, but you can definitely use a spider if that makes you more comfortable.




After all your donuts are fried up and cooled, decide what you want for toppings. I did cinnamon sugar and a classic glaze. The cinnamon sugar is easy, just throw your cooled donuts into a bowl of the mixture. The oil will help make the sugar stick! For the glaze, I just did a simple powder sugar, milk and vanilla mixture (just like cinnamon roll glaze). I dunked each donut in the glaze and put them on a wire rack so they could drip dry. I put some sprinkles on a few when the glaze was still wet. Let me tell you...these donuts are dangerously good. They were gone in a day and a half and they were still good after sitting out. I will be making these again, maybe with some chocolate frosting!




Next week I will give you all the run down on sourdough bread and the things I create with the starter besides the basic bread. Stay tuned and stay home! :)


 

The Perfect Yeast Doughnuts


Ingredients:

  • 6 tbsp (90 ml) water

  • 5 oz buttermilk (at room temperature)

  • 1 egg, beaten (at room temperature)

  • 2 oz (57 g) butter, melted

  • 16 oz (454 g) all-purpose flour

  • 2 oz (57 g) sugar

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 1 1/2 tsp (5 g) regular or quick-rise yeast (one and a 1/2 teaspoons)

  • oil for frying (I used vegetable oil)

  • Ingredients for topping

Instructions:

  1. Place the dry ingredients in a mixer bowl. Put 6 tbsp of lukewarm water in a cup and sprinkle the yeast on top, set aside for about 5 minutes, until the yeast begins to react (you can add a pinch of sugar to help it). Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, then pour in the buttermilk, egg, melted butter and yeast mixture. If you don't have buttermilk, use regular milk (not skim) and a 1/2 tsp of vinegar or lemon juice. If using a stand mixer, run with the dough hook until a dough forms then continue for about 5 minutes. By hand, knead for about 10 minutes. Cover and set aside until at least doubled in size.

  2. Once the dough has doubled, place it on a floured surface and knead lightly. Divide it in half, keeping half the dough covered, so it doesn’t form a skin. With a rolling pin, roll out half of the dough to about 1/2″ thickness. Cut with a round, sharp cookie cutter (about 3″ diameter) then make the holes with a smaller cookie cutter (about 1″ diameter), saving the holes. Repeat with the other half of the dough (or make different shapes of your liking).

  3. Place each doughnut on a piece of parchment or waxed paper, then place on a cookie sheet. Turn your oven on to create some heat, then cover the doughnuts with a towel or plastic wrap to keep the doughnuts hydrated and warm. Allow doughnuts to double in size.

  4. Heat the oil to about 350ºF. If you don’t have a thermometer test the oil with a doughnut hole: if it doesn’t start frying immediately, the oil is too cold, if the hole turns brown right away, the oil is too hot. Adjust the heat accordingly.

  5. Drop the doughnuts into the hot oil CAREFULLY. Turn them over as soon as they become golden brown on the underside, and remove them and place on a paper towel lined platter once they are ready.

  6. When the doughnuts have cooled, roll them in sugar to coat evenly. Make your glaze and coat each doughnut evenly, allowing them to drip dry on a wire rack.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page