top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Evans

Keep Calm and Carry On?

Updated: Mar 7, 2022

Let me begin this blog by saying that I am fine, and everyone on the study abroad trip is fine. I know Coronavirus has taken over the majority of our minds and the thought of loved ones being in the middle of it is scary. Being in the middle of the chaos seems to be a lot less panic than being back home, watching the news and worrying. We haven't stopped our everyday lives, the school is keeping us informed, and Iowa State is taking care of what needs to be. I have definitely thought about this outbreak a lot, and I am honestly tired of it and it's induced fear. This week was hard, constantly having the stress and fear of it in the back of my head, on top of countless other things that happened. At this point, I have accepted that whatever happens is going to happen, and I really can't change that. Yes, I may be sent home early, but I could also be here the rest of the month. I refuse to let it stop me from doing what I came here to do (minus going to Italy, of course). IF you have any questions or concerns, you are more than welcome to contact me and I can explain our situation a little more, but at the end of this paragraph, I would like to let Coronavirus and its chaos go.


Time to Clear my Head


If any of you know me, you know how much I love to be alone. Yes - I am a people person and I love to be with friends, but wow I need some alone time. I FINALLY got that last Friday. I decided to escape campus and the city and take a bus to a village nearby. I packed a little picnic for myself and took off for the day. Nearby was a small mountain called Mt. Chortiatis, and I was determined to hike it - alone. I made it there and it was the best decision I have made so far. The trail was quiet and I finally could clear my head. It wasn't a difficult or long haul hike, just 3 hours round trip. It was beautiful. Mountains on one side of me, the sea and city on the other. The sun was shining and there was a perfect breeze at the top of the trail. This was exactly what I needed.



Walking through the little village was almost as relaxing. I got a coffee at a cute little shop and watched the stray dogs chase each other. The weather got cooler and by the time I made it to the city for dinner it had started raining. I met up with some friends and we got a quick bite before heading back to campus.



Channeling Dionysus


Oh wine, you can never hurt me. Part of the Greek Culture class I am taking involves visiting a local winery and trying some of the native varieties. I do believe that wine should be apart of American culture so we can taste wine for classes there. We had the opportunity to visit Chatzivariti Winery, about an hour from Thessaloniki. There, we met Chloe, who had unlimited knowledge about wine making and tasting. We had a tour of the wine and learned about the different processes of making red, white, and rose wines. I also learned how sparkling wine is naturally made (the manual labor for these wines deserves more than what we pay). Then, we learned how to taste wine and how to search for characteristics in the aroma and taste.



This winery specifically focuses on the Greek varieties - especially Xinomavro. Most of her wines had the Xinomavro grape, some blended with the classic french varieties of Cabernet, Syrah, or Merlot. We had the chance to try a perfect Rosé named Chloe, made with Xinomavro and Cabernet grapes (one of my new favorite rosés!) We also got to try several whites, one similar to a Pinot Grigio, and a few sweeter. Finally - my favorite of the bunch - we tasted the reds. We had one called the Mosaic Red, made with Xinomavro, Cabernet, Negoska, and Merlot grapes, and another called Gumenissa Red, made with Xinomavro and Negoska. After drinking these creations, I have found my new love for Greek Wine. Xinomavro, you have won my heart. If you are in Greece, check out a local winery and ASK QUESTIONS. You can learn so much and have such a huge appreciation for wine.



Kastra and Pirates


Sunday was a slow start, trying to make plans for a day trip for carnival (which BY THE WAY was cancelled for Coronavirus....can we stop please). Finally, I decided to go to the city and explore some areas that weren't so known. On the hill of Thessaloniki is a place called Kastra, home of multiple castles and a big wall. I thought it would be a good idea to just walk from the Arch of Galerius to this landmark...all I can say is we did it and we deserved every drink we had. Google Maps took us to the wrong place, which involved a lot more walking and wandering that we had bargained for (let me remind you that the entire trek was UPHILL). Somehow, we didn't see this giant, ancient wall in front of us until we walked what felt like another mile. Finally we found the castle (and civilization). It was huge! We walked around it for awhile and found a cafe called Castra (clever, I know). I had a refreshing smoothie - I know you thought I meant alcoholic beverages earlier...don't worry, I had one later.



After our long hike to the top of Thessaloniki, we decided to bus back down to the water. Of course, this was an adventure in itself because we forgot to get off and had to take 3 different buses - but we made it! (I forgot to mention how much I despise the public buses, thanks to a $60 fine they threw at me last week). If you visit Thessaloniki, head to the boardwalk at night. Music, cotton candy, and popcorn line the streets. Plus, you can ride on a pirate ship for FREE to see the sunset. We did just that, rewarding ourselves with Piña Coladas and tequila. I have said it before and I will say it again 100x over - there is nothing like a Greek sunset, and I will never be disappointed. After our little pirate adventure, we went to TGI Fridays, because I needed buffalo wings (with actual spice!). I was exhausted, and it turned out to be a pretty solid day



Oh Halkidiki...


Monday was a national Holiday in Greece called Clean Monday. This is similar to Ash Wednesday in America, but involves more festivities and celebration. Traditions include flying kites, eating seafood and salads, and just coming together as friends and family. Unfortunately, a lot of celebrations were cancelled, but we still found some activities going on. A few of us decided to take a trip to a village in Halkidiki, a very picturesque region in northern Greece. This day didn't necessarily go as planned, but we still had the chance to enjoy the beautiful views. People were flying kites on the beach and the weather was absolutely perfect. We had some souvlaki and freddo espresso with views of the water and in an adorable little village. Getting home was a bit of a hassle, but we made it and I honestly was okay with how the day ended up. I am hoping I have the chance to go back to Halkidiki just to sit on the beach and enjoy the warm March weather.



After this crazy week, I am hoping things calm down and we can continue to enjoy this beautiful country. I am heading to Switzerland to hike the Alps and take a stroll through Zurich. A few more winery visits seem to be in my future and hopefully some beaches along the way. We have about a month left of this crazy journey, and I plan to make the most of whatever time I have left.

160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page