top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabrielle Evans

Blue Skies and Umbrellas

Updated: Mar 7, 2022

This week was very relaxing and a lot slower than the last few! I didn't go anywhere for the weekend, so I could explore Thessaloniki and take some time for myself. I had my first test just yesterday and it was much easier than I expected (I say without getting my grade yet...). I've been trying my hand at speaking Greek and learning some on my own...it is a slow process. We also went to a cooking class for my cultural class! We made spinach pies called Spanakopita and rice wrapped in grape leaves called Dolmathakia. We had a "create your own" Greek Salad and a delicious chicken entree as well. This was a great experience and the food was amazing!



Under My Umbrella (ella, ella)


One of the most famous areas in Thessaloniki are the "Umbrella" by Zongolopoulos. Zongolopoulos is a Greek sculptor and he apparently had a series of these umbrellas made for different cities. The ones in Thessaloniki are in a prime spot, close to the White Tower and on the water. They make for a great photo opportunity.



We, of course, had some ice cream in Aristotle Square. Some of the best Gelato I've had since I've been here! We also decided to do a little spur of the moment thing and go to a tattoo shop! I got a tattoo I had been wanting for a little while - a pineapple on my wrist. Pineapples are the international sign of hospitality (my major) and they represent friendship and warmth. I thought this fit me well and it is pretty cute!



Blue Sky Disco Club?


Saturday was a day of exploring. We went to the small town near the school, Thermi, and just wandered. I discovered my favorite new coffee shop - Coffee Island. They speak pretty decent English here, have almond or soy milk, and their cups have some great quotes. We found another Coffee Island in Thessaloniki and the baristas gave us our coffee on the house (what could be better than free coffee??). Thermi is full of little shops and restaurants that I hope to check out soon. We stopped at Friego and had smoothies before heading back to the dorms for a bit.



Saturday night was a chance for us to check out the Greek nightlife. I googled some places and I actually found a place in Thermi that had great reviews - Blue Sky Disco Club! We were so excited to go and dance...until we got there. The place was full of children and their parents DRESSED IN COSTUMES. We were the only 3 people in the 20-30 age group and we obviously missed the memo on the costume party. We tried to make the best of it, grabbed a drink, and went to dance. That lasted maybe 10 minutes and we decided to eat the taxi fee to Thessaloniki.


We found a GREAT bar in Thessaloniki called Blue Cup. This place is a coffee house by day, a cocktail bar by night. The vibes were great and the drinks were even better ($3 Don Julio shots???). The waiters danced with you and everyone was having a great time! I will definitely go back, even if it's just for coffee!


Turkish Baths


After a late night (early for the Greeks), I slept in and we went to a place called Brunch Box at about 3pm. Believe it or not, the restaurant was packed at this time...just proof that the Greeks hang way later than we can and eat breakfast in the afternoon. Brunch Box was sooo good! Pancakes and fruit and eggs - did I mention I LOVE breakfast food?



After eating, we made our way to Thessaloniki for our massage appointments! This was much needed after traveling and sleeping on stiff mattresses. We went to a place called Hammam Baths. We started in a sauna room where we "bathed" ourselves by dumping hot water all over our bodies. For about 30 minutes, we sat and steamed the toxins out. Then, we had the most incredible massage. They cover you in soap and scrub your skin to remove all the dirt from your pores. Then they massage your entire body before rinsing the olive oil scented soap from your body. To end it, they give you an incredible scalp massage while washing your hair. I had never felt so clean and refreshed. I retreated to my room so I could enjoy the tranquility I felt.



This upcoming weekend I will be spending a few days in Stockholm, Sweden! We are also enjoying Thessaloniki's Carnival on Thursday! Stay tuned!!

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page